Star of Texas S. Presented by Emirates Airlines

Race 8 at Sam Houston Race Park on December 5, 2009

  • STK
  • 1 1/16 miles
  • Dirt
  • $100,000
  • 3 yo's & up
  • 10:02 PM
  • 1:43.93
Order of Finish

Crook's Bodgit

Byars  – Baby Bodgit


  • J:Eduardo E. Perez
  • T:Ingrid Mason
  • B:Byron Crook
  • O:Coby Tresner
  • Margin:½
  • TrueNicks: A++
  • Sire: Byars , Chestnut, 1993. Lifetime: 30 yearlings sold, median $1,450.
  • Broodmare Sire: Captain Bodgit , Dark Bay or Brown, 1994.
  • Sale History: 2006 TEXAUG, $1,000.

Ablaze With Spirit

American Spirit  – Ablazing Grace


  • J:Shaun Bridgmohan
  • T:Steven M. Asmussen
  • B:Donald R. Dizney
  • O:Heiligbrodt Racing Stable
  • Margin:
  • TrueNicks: C+
  • Sire: American Spirit , Chestnut, 1996. Lifetime: 5 yearlings sold, median $2,200.
  • Broodmare Sire: Wekiva Springs , Gray, 1991.

Becky's Express

Congaree  – Becky Virtue


  • J:James Graham
  • T:Michelle Lovell
  • B:Stonerside Stable
  • O:Richard W. Penn
  • Margin:neck
  • TrueNicks: D
  • Sire: Congaree , Chestnut, 1998. Lifetime: 133 yearlings sold, median $12,000.
  • Broodmare Sire: Strodes Creek , Bay, 1991.

Valid Stripes

Valid Expectations  – Eccentric Lady


  • J:Eguard A. Tejera
  • T:Amos Laborde
  • B:Ed Few
  • O:Donald W. Erickson

Windy Lou

Half Fast George  – T. V. Bold


  • J:Benito Tovar Morales
  • T:Jimmy L. Ray, Jr.
  • B:Dan Uglow
  • O:Timothy Lavow

Mean Demand

Constant Demand  – Jump City


  • J:Chris Landeros
  • T:Francine Faraci-Walder
  • B:Judy Peek
  • O:Juve Stable

Fly So Open

Open Forum  – Fly So Pretty


  • J:Larry Taylor
  • T:Kevin C. Walker
  • B:Muller Racing LLC
  • O:Renpher Stable

Goosey Moose

Shaquin  – Laura's Ego


  • J:Paul M. Nolan
  • T:Danny Pish
  • B:Wilton Elege Scott
  • O:Collins, Kenneth and Pish, Danny


Pleasant Tap  – Salty Tam


  • J:Jamie Theriot
  • T:W. Bret Calhoun
  • B:Wayne R. Sanders
  • O:Sanders, Wayne and Hirsch, Larry

Burbon Road

Cloud Hopping  – Fleur de Talc


  • J:Jorge Guzman
  • T:Jerenesto Torrez
  • B:Sam E. Stevens
  • O:Brent Savage


Mutakddim  – Lone Star Stella


  • J:Filemon T. Rodriguez
  • T:Edward Webb
  • B:Lane M. Hutchins & Dr. Richard Weilburg
  • O:Webb, Eddie and Sherry
Keeneland Sales Graduate denotes Keeneland Sales Graduate
  • Skip a Smile

    Skip a Smile Honored As Tops in Texas

    Rose Mary Chandler, owner/breeder of 2011 Texas Horse of the Year Skip a Smile, and the owners and breeders of five other Texas-bred divisional champions were honored by the Texas Thoroughbred Association.

  • Taptam won the Pippin Stakes in January.

    No Standout in Wide-Open Obeah Stakes

    Taptam, runner-up to Zenyatta last out, and Peruvian-bred Morena, who finished third behind runner-up Rachel Alexandra recently and second in this race a year ago, are among a field of 10 entered for the Obeah Stakes.

  • Zenyatta arrived at Oaklawn Park in preparation for the Apple Blossom.

    Zenyatta Faces Only Four in Apple Blossom

    Compared to what it was supposed to look like, the field for the April 9 Apple Blossom Invitational Handicap (gr. I) is a major disappointment. A field of only five, led by undefeated two-time champion Zenyatta, was drawn.

  • Canadian invader Pool Play is the 119-pound high weight in the 1 1/8-mile Connally.

    John Connally Turf 'Cap a 14-Horse Puzzler

    The $200,000 John B. Connally Turf Handicap (gr. IIIT) came up as a real hat pin special Jan. 30, attracting a capacity field of 14 entrants with no clear standouts at Sam Houston Race Park.

  • Emerging Stars to Shine at Fair Grounds

    Although this weekend's action is headed by the grade III Southwest Stakes, El Camino Real Derby, and Sam F. Davis, and the 3-year-old debut of Imperial Council, a race to keep a close eye on is the 8th at Fair Grounds on Saturday.

  • Texas 2008 Champions Announced

    The Texas Thoroughbred Association honored its top performers of 2008 at its annual Horse Racing/Breeding Conference and Annual Meeting in Dallas Jan. 9-10. The winner of the prestigious T.I. "Pops" Harkins award went to John Adger, racing manager of Bob and Janice McNair's Stonerside, which was purchased by Sheikh Mohammed's Darley last year.

  • Iowa Derby winner Tiz Now Tiz Then faces a full field of 3-year-olds in the Oklahoma Derby.

    Step-Up Time for Oklahoma Derby Dozen

    Tiz Now Tiz Then looks to improve off his sixth-place run in the Pennsylvania Derby (gr. II) when he faces a full field of 3-year-olds in the $350,000 Oklahoma Derby at Remington Park Oct. 19.

  • Liberty Bull scores by two lengths in the $600,000 WinStar Derby at Sunland Park March 16.

    Liberty Bull Rushes to WinStar Derby Win

    Liberty Bull, third behind Denis of Cork and Sierra Sunset in the Southwest Stakes (gr. III) last time out, made that race look even better with a sharp two-length victory in the rich $600,000 WinStar Derby at New Mexico's Sunland Park March 16.

  • Poni Colada comes into the WinStar Derby off a scorching eight-length victory in the Feb. 16 Borderland Derby.

    Asmussen Enters a Pair in WinStar Derby

    These days, much of Steve Asmussen's focus is on his pair of Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) contenders, Pyro and Z Fortune. But on March 16, Asmussen has an opportunity to score some serious earnings with another pair of 3-year-olds, as he will enter Poni Colada and Ablaze With Spirit in the $600,000 WinStar Derby at Sunland Park.

  • Coolmore Lexington winner Slew's Tizzy headlines the Lone Star Derby.<br><a target="blank" href="">Order This Photo</a>

    Slew's Tizzy Pick in Lone Star Derby

    A field of 10 3-year-olds was entered in Saturday's $300,000 Lone Star Derby (gr. III) at Lone Star Park, headed by Coolmore Lexington Stakes (gr. II) champ Slew's Tizzy and Illinois Derby (gr. II) runner-up Reporting for Duty.

  • Stars of Texas Meet Again At Lone Star Park

    Eighty-two Texas-breds were entered for Saturday's fifth annual Stars of Texas card at Lone Star Park. Dual stakes winner Goosey Moose was made the mild 3-1 morning line favorite for the $125,000 Assault Stakes, the centerpiece of six stakes events on the 10-race program.

More Results

More Results