TVG, HRTV Plan Keeneland Coverage

Edited press releases
The TVG network will provide live, on-site coverage of the Keeneland meet opener in Lexington, Ky. on Friday and HorseRacing TV will be presenting a daily replay show of the track's races throughout the meet.

The TVG commentary, color and analysis on opening weekend will be provided Todd Schrupp, Simon Bray and Jill Byrne. Gary Stevens will offer live reports from Keeneland most Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays during the remainder of the meet, which concludes on April 28. TVG will televise action from the entire 15-day Keeneland meet. Portions of the telecasts will be simulcast on FSN Prime Ticket.

The Keeneland spring meet will include 19 stakes (14 graded), with total stakes purses worth $4,225,000. The three-day opening weekend will be highlighted by the grade I, $500,000 Ashland Stakes for 3-year-old fillies, which will be run on Saturday, April 8, and will be televised live on TVG and via tape delay (6:00-6:30 p.m. ET) on Fox Sports New York. The Ashland is a major prep for the grade I Kentucky Oaks. The weekend's other stakes races are the opening day's grade III Central Bank Transylvania and Sunday's Lafayette. The grade I, $750,000 Toyota Blue Grass Stakes will be run on Saturday, April 15.

"There's something about the return of racing to Keeneland that signals the racing year is truly underway," said Tony Allevato, TVG senior vice president and executive producer. "Once again, we are delighted to work with Keeneland to bring our viewers extensive coverage of the spring meet."

HorseRacing TV will air a next-day replay show of Keeneland's races, at 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT, five days a week -- Thursday through Monday. Keeneland will conduct racing on Wednesdays through Sundays (excluding Easter Sunday, April 16).

The addition of Keeneland to HRTV's replay menu will necessitate moving the Golden Gate Fields replay show back to 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT.

Most Popular Stories