Harthill Voted New Kentucky HBPA President

Dr. Alex Harthill, the well-known veterinarian, defeated incumbent Rick Hiles in voting for the presidency of the Kentucky Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association. The results of a 30-day vote by the membership were made available Wednesday.

The vote tally wasn't readily available, but Kentucky HBPA executive director Marty Maline said Harthill "won by a wide margin." Harthill also was the top vote-getter for an owner's spot on the board of directors, but he will serve as president of the organization.

Hiles, a Kentucky-based trainer, will continue to serve as president of the National HBPA. He also serves on several national committees in the Thoroughbred industry.

The vote involved 10 seats (five owners, five trainers) on the board of directors. The owner directors are Don Ball, Frank Jones, Susan Bunning, Mary Ann Cooper, and Ray Cottrell. The trainer directors are Paul McGee, Bob Holthus, Bob Desensi, and Dale Romans.