Eclipse Award Voting Procedures Changed

Press release from NTRA
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association announced Monday changes in the voting procedures for the Eclipse Awards, which are bestowed upon horses and individuals in Thoroughbred racing whose achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. The NTRA presents the annual awards in conjunction with Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association.

For the 30th annual Eclipse Awards, recognizing achievement in 2000, voting will:

- Conclude at noon on Jan. 2, 2001, allowing voters to consider all performances throughout calendar year 2000;

- Incorporate the votes of a select group of Equibase Company chartcallers, who will join the NTRA racing secretaries' bloc for the first time this year;

- Be based on both a printed compilation of Past Performance information and online updates to reflect subsequent racing, which will be posted courtesy of Equibase Company on the Daily Racing Form Web site,; and

- Include the annual breeder's award, previously voted on by a committee.

"The Eclipse Awards Steering Committee is confident these changes, while not dramatic, will improve the process of selecting Eclipse Award winners," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA vice president-industry relations and marketing. "The inclusion of a portion of the Equibase Track and Field Staff in particular brings additional eminently qualified people to the voting process."

The National Turf Writers Association and Daily Racing Form voting blocs remain unchanged.

The 30th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony will be held Monday, Jan. 29, 2001 at the Ritz-Carlton in New Orleans, La.