ABC Network Wins Two Eclipse Awards

NTRA press release
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced Wednesday the winners of the Media Eclipse Awards, which are given annually in recognition for excellence in media coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The winners are:

-- Writing-News/Commentary: Jay Hovdey, "Racing Loses a Man of Taste," Daily Racing Form, June 7, 2000

-- Writing-Features/Enterprise: Mary Simon, "Racing Through the Century," Thoroughbred Times, Dec. 25, 1999-Nov. 13, 2000

-- National Television-Features: ABC Sports, feature on Marlon St. Julien airing as a segment in "Raising the Roof-Seven Athletes for the 21st Century," Feb. 5, 2000, produced by Paul Hutchinson

-- National Television-Live Racing Programming: ABC Sports, Kentucky Derby, May 6, 2000, produced by Curt Gowdy Jr.

-- Local Television: "The Preakness: An American Classic," WMAR-TV, July 15, 2000, produced by Maryland Jockey Club

-- Radio: Premiere Radio, Breeders' Cup, Nov. 4, 2000, produced by Shelby Whitfield

-- Photography: Dave Landry's photo of Strike Smartly, which appeared in the 2000 Queen's Plate Souvenir issue of the Canadian Thoroughbred

The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Eclipse Awards are also given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The awards are
presented by the NTRA, the National Turf Writers Association and Daily Racing Form.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Media Eclipse Award winners will be honored at the 30th annual Eclipse Awards Dinner, to be held Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2001 at the historic Saenger Theatre in New Orleans, La.