TVG to Air "Viewer Choice Awards" Based on Fan Poll

From TVG
Presentations of Horse of the Year, Trainer of the Year and Race of the Year highlight the inaugural TVG "Viewer Choice Awards" to be aired live on the TVG Network on Monday, January 29 from 9-10 PM EST (6-7 PM PST).

Hosted by TVG anchors Caton Bredar and Greg Wolf, the ceremony will honor 14 categories of achievement in Thoroughbred, harness and quarter horse racing. The winners were selected through on on-line poll of TVG viewers, with over one million votes cast over a two-week period.

"We can't think of a better way to cap a great year of racing than by recognizing the individuals and achievements that best captured the attention of racing fans in 2000," said Bredar. "The Viewer Choice Awards are special because they are chosen directly by racing fans."

In addition to the selection of the Horse, Trainer and Race of the Year awards, fans were also invited to select other more unique favorites such as Race Call of the Year and Wild Ride of the Year. Other categories include: Apprentice Jockey of the Year, Jockey of the Year, Harness Horse of the Year, Race Broadcaster of the Year, Owner of the Year, Harness Driver of the Year, Claiming Horse of the Year, Quarter Horse of the Year and Breeder of the Year.