First National Owners' Licenses Issued

The first national license for owners was issued last week to Virginia Kraft Payson, who filed her application Breeders' Cup week at Churchill Downs last November.

The National Racing Compact began issuing the licenses, which are accepted in 15 states: Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Virginia, and West Virginia, which are members of the National Racing Compact, and Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Washington, which recognize the license.

Kentucky is among the states looking to enact legislation tied to the national license.

Some other people in the industry who have received national licenses are John Franks, Bob and Janice McNair, Bob Anderson, John T.L. Jones Jr., and David and Harriet Finkelstein.

"Our goal is to make licensing as convenient as possible with one-stop shopping for owners -- and eventually trainers, drivers, and jockeys," said Jon McKinnie, the compact's executive director.

License applicants can apply on-line at, and make credit-card payments for fees in applicable states without leaving home.