KTOB Announces Kentucky-bred Champions

The board of directors of the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders announced their Kentucky-bred champions and other award winners Wednesday morning. The winning connections will be honored at their annual luncheon April 25 at Keeneland.

Adena Springs' grand mare Primal Force was named Broodmare of the Year (see other story) and the farm will be honored with the P.A.B. Widener Award for 2000 as the state's top breeder. Adena Springs is owned by Frank Stronach.

The champion Kentucky-breds are:

Fusaichi Pegasus: Kentucky-bred Horse of the Year and champion 3-year-old colt. Fusaichi Pegasus was bred by Arthur B. Hancock III and Stonerside Ltd.

Caressing: Champion 2-year-old filly. She was bred by Brereton C. Jones.

Macho Uno: The Adena Springs-bred colt was named champion 2-year-old colt.

Surfside: Champion 3-year-old filly. She was bred by Overbrook Farm.

Heritage of Gold: The Georgia E. Hofmann-bred mare was named champion handicap mare.

Lemon Drop Kid: Champion older horse. Lemon Drop Kid was bred by W.S. Farish and W.S. Kilroy.

Perfect Sting: The champion turf female was bred by Adena Springs.

John's Call: Bred by Winborne Farm, John's Call was named champion turf male.

Kona Gold: Champion sprinter. He was bred by Carlos Perez.

Giant's Causeway: Top Kentucky-bred racing abroad was bred by Orpendale and Michael Tabor.

Flat Top: Champion steeplechaser. He was bred by Landon Knight Stables.

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund Leader Award winners of 2000 that will be honored are Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Ramsey, for leading KTDF owner. Overbrook Farm for leading KTDF breeder, D. Wayne Lukas for KTDF leading trainer, Storm Cat for KTDF leading sire, and Captain Steve for KTDF leading earner.

Dr. Benjamin Roach will be presented the Coman Humanitarian Award that honors the memory of William C. Coman.

Raymond S. Paulick, editor-in-chief of The Blood-Horse, will receive the Charles W. Englehard Award which is given to a member of the media in recognition for his/her outstanding service.

Hardboot breeder of 2000 is Carlos Perez. Created in 1999, the award commemorates the success of small breeders.