Strebel Elected President of NAPRA

Sherry Strebel of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission was elected president at the North American Pari-Mutuel Regulators Association's (NAPRA) Spring business meeting held in Orange Beach, Ala.

Sherry Strebel has served as president of a number of organizations, including the Oklahoma State Medical Association Alliance, Visiting Nurse Association, Advisory Council of the Mercy Health Center, and Heritage Hall School Board. She has also served on the Habit for Humanity Board for 15 years, currently serving an extended term as their treasurer. On the national level, Mrs. Strebel was president of the American Medical Association Alliance.

Strebel was appointed to the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission for a six-year term, July 1, 1997 through June 30, 2003. This is her second year as the commission's chair. Last year, Strebel served as NAPRA's first vice president. In becoming president of NAPRA, Strebel said, "NAPRA has made great strides in its short existence and I look forward to working with the many active and interested industry volunteers who have pushed this organization to excel."

The other elected Board Members are: first vice president - Lorna Romilly, British Columbia Racing Commission; second vice president - Ron McLeod, Alberta Racing Corporation; secretary - Wade Turner, Arizona Racing Commission; and treasurer - Gene Olander, Kansas Racing & Gaming Commission.