Jockeys Named for All-Star Championship in Texas

The jockeys have been selected for this year's NTRA All-Star Jockey Challenge at Lone Star Park. The group is led by Laffit Pincay Jr., the all-time leading jockey by number of wins, and Pat Day, who as of May 29 was one victory shy of 8,000.

Pincay, a winner of more than 9,100 races, Day, and Jerry Bailey are the three Hall of Famers scheduled to compete June 22 at the Texas track. Earlie Fires, winner of more than 6,100 races, will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in August.

Day and Bailey were selected for the Championship through an online poll, the first year fans were involved in the process. The other jockey, selected by a panel, are Robby Albarardo, Ronald Ardoin, Tyler Baze, Jorge Chavez, David Flores, Aaron Gryder, and Edgar Prado.

The 12th and final slot in the competition will go to Lone Star's leading jockey through June 3. Corey Lanerie, who earned a berth in 1999 and finished second to Pincay that year, had a 47-33 advantage over Curt Bourque as of May 29.

The four-member selection panel for the event consisted of Bill Shoemaker,Charles "Chick" Lang, Larry Craft, and Bob Curran. Preference in the selection process is given to jockeys who are members of the Jockeys' Guild, which benefits from the event.

One percent of the wagering on the four NTRA All-Star Jockey Championship races and a special "All-Star Wager" goes directly to the Jockeys' Guild Disabled Riders Fund. The Guild, which provides financial and medical assistance to disabled and injured jockeys, also receives a portion of the proceeds from a memorabilia auction, autograph session, and golf tournament. The event has raised more than $420,000 in its first four years.

This year's Championship will be televised nationally on ESPN2 at 11 p.m. (CDT) June 22.

Jockey Bill Hartack, who won the Kentucky Derby a record five times (a mark shared with Eddie Arcaro), will be the guest of honor at this year's event.