Jockey Challenge Set For Friday

The NTRA All-Star Jockey Challenge is set for Friday as 12 of the nation's best Thoroughbred race rider's return to Lone Star Park in Grand Prairie, Texas, for the popular four-race competition.

This year's cast of all-stars features: Robby Albarado, Ronald Ardoin, Jerry Bailey, Tyler Baze, Jorge Chavez, Pat Day, Earlie Fires, David Flores, Aaron Gryder, Corey Lanerie, Laffit Pincay Jr. and Edgar Prado.

Together, the all-stars have won more than 49,000 races. Their mounts have earned in excess of $1.2 billion.

Jockeys will receive points for finishing first (12 points), second (6), third (4) and fourth (3) in each race. One point would be awarded to a jockey if his mount is a late scratch or declared a non-starter by the track stewards. All jockeys would receive one point if a race were declared a "no contest." The jockey with the most points at the end of the competition is crowned the champion. The best finish in the final race will decide all tiebreakers.

Riders will be competing for a record $163,000 in prize money. Along with the prestige of winning the event, the champion jockey will earn $21,000. Other prize money: $16,000 (second); $15,000 (third); $14,000 (fourth); $13,000 (fifth) and $12,000 (sixth through 12th).

Post time for the first of Lone Star's 10-race card is 6:35 p.m. The first Jockey Championship race is the third race at 7:39 p.m. The other Jockey Championship races are the fourth (8:06 p.m.), sixth (8:06 p.m.) and seventh (9 p.m.) races. The Jockey Championship will be televised by ESPN2 tape-delayed on Saturday at 11 p.m. (CDT).