Holy Bull, Mandella, Fires Among Hall of Fame Inductees Today

Champion runners Holy Bull and Paseana, veteran jockey Earlie Fires, trainer Richard Mandella, and Maskette (Horse of Yesteryear) will be inducted into Thoroughbred racing's Hall of Fame today.

Among those expected for the 10:30 a.m. (EDT) ceremony at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. are Hall of Fame jockeys Braulio Baeza, Jerry Bailey, Walter Blum, Pat Day, and Julie Krone, steeplechase jockeys F.D. "Dooley" Adams, Jerry Fishback and Mike Smithwick, and trainers Allen Jerkens, P.G. Johnson, Tommy Kelly, Bill Mott, John Nerud and Scotty Schulhofer.

Sportswriter and author Frank Deford, a member of the National Association of Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame, will give the keynote speech.

Related Stories Published in the Aug. 4 edition of The Blood-Horse magazine:

Holy Bull's Success Was 'Remarkable Story'

Mandella Ruled California in 1990s

Fires is Epitomy of Courtesy and Professionalism

Paseana 'Strong as Steel, But Coy'

Maskette Part of Keene's 'Golden Age of Champions'

Racing's Hall of Fame Evolved from Humble Beginnings

See also:

Hall of Fame Biography for Trainer Tom Smith