TOBA Winners Announced

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association named four owners as recipients of its 2001 Regional Owner of the Year Awards.

Mike Pegram (West), Vernon Heath (Mid-West), Frank Stronach (South), and the late Ernie Samuel (East) will be honored at TOBA's annual National Awards Dinner on Sept. 7 at Adena Springs near Versailles, Ky.

TOBA's Owner of the Year Awards are intended to recognize the overall contribution made by Thoroughbred owners in their racing regions.

In addition to presenting the four Regional Owner of the Year awards, TOBA will announce a National Owner of the Year and a National Breeder of the Year. TOBA will also recognize 28 state breeders of the year and will announce the recipients of its annual Industry Service Awards.