Ky. Commission Approves Derby Future Wager Dates

The Kentucky Racing Commission on Monday approved the dates for the three Kentucky Derby Future Wager pools.

The first pool will run Feb. 14-17, with Pool 2 opening March 14 and closing March 17. The third and final pool will run April 4-7. All pools run from Thursday through Sunday. The 128th renewal of the Derby will be May 4.

In addition, the commission also approved the Association of Racing Commissioners International model rule for future wagers. Churchill Downs asked the commission to adopt the model rule because commissioners in other states have said such an endorsement would make them feel more confident about adopting the rule themselves.

Following the commission's action, Churchill Downs also announced that it would change the wagering hours for the fourth and final day of each future pool. Wagering on those Sundays will begin at noon (all times Eastern) and end at 5:30 p.m., one hour later than in the previous three years of the wager. The hours on the first three days of each pool were not changed. Wagering on those days will open at noon.

"The Kentucky Derby Future Wager has been a significant success story for Churchill Downs over the past three years," said Alex Waldrop, president of Churchill Downs. "It has rapidly become a part of Derby tradition and it generates early fan excitement and anticipation in the weeks leading up to America's greatest race."

The Kentucky Derby Future Wager is a $2 minimum wager, with win betting only. The field of horses in each pool consists of 24 betting interests, which include 23 horses and a 24th interest that is a mutuel field that contains all other 3-year-old Thoroughbreds - regardless of whether those horses have been nominated to the Kentucky Derby and the Visa Triple Crown.