No Cakewalk for Malabar Gold in Kilroe Mile

Malabar Gold will try to stretch his speed around two turns when he takes on Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT) champ Val Royal in Saturday's Frank E. Kilroe Mile (gr. IIT) on the Camino Real Turf Course at Santa Anita Park.

Malabar Gold has pressed or set the pace while winning four of five starts on the downhill turf course, and chances are he won't change his running style for the Kilroe.

In 10 starts, Malabar Gold has won five for earnigns of $182,017, but finished last of six in his only start around two turns, on dirt in the 1999 Hollywood Futurity.

The field for the Kilroe Mile includes: Sarafan (Corey Nakatani, 115); Spinelessjellyfish (Laffit Pincay Jr., 116); Stratton (David Flores, 113); Thady Quill (Eddie Delahoussaye, 116); Orlentate (Mike Smith, 114); Designed For Luck (Victor Espinoza, 117); Val Royal (Jose Valdivia, 123); Malabar Gold (Chris McCarron, 115); Irish Prize (Gary Stevens, 123); No Slip (Alex Solis, 115); Night Patrol (Brice Blanc, 113); and Decarchy (Kent Desormeaux, 119).