Kentucky Champions Honored

Prince Ahmed Salman, who won two-thirds of the 2001 Triple Crown with subsequent Horse of the Year Point Given, registered a hat trick at the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders luncheon scheduled for April 24 at Keeneland. The Saudi prince, in the name of The Thoroughbred Corp., was honored with championships for Point Given as best 3-year-old male; Spain as top older female; and Turko's Turn as outstanding broodmare.

All three horses remain active, but in different ways. Point Given, a son of Thunder Gulch, is standing his first season at stud at Robert N. Clay's Three Chimneys Farm near Midway, Ky. His fee, $125,000, is the most for a first-year stallion.

Spain, a $3-million earner, remains in training with D. Wayne Lukas and might run next in the May 3 Louisville Breeders' Cup Handicap (gr. II) at Churchill Downs. Turko's Turn is kept at Mill Ridge Farm, owned by Dr. John Chandler and his wife, Alice, near Lexington. Turko's Turn produced a full sister to Point Given on April 8. She is booked back to Thunder Gulch.

Salman also keeps Spain's dam, Drina, at Mill Ridge. She aborted a Thunder Gulch offspring scheduled for birth this year and is in foal to him off a Feb. 27 cover.

Turko's Turn, a 10-year-old daughter of champion Turkoman, and Drina are both represented by a stakes-placed 3-year-old. Point Gained, a filly out of Turko's Turn, was stakes-placed as a 2-year-old and won April 18 at Lone Star Park. Drina's 3-year-old, the colt Puerto Banus, ran second in the restricted Sham Stakes at Santa Anita earlier this year.

Turko's Turn has roots in both Kentucky and Minnesota. She was bred by John Dolan of Minnesota, and foaled at the Hinkle family's Hidaway Farm near Paris, Ky. Dolan, with his wife, Clara, and Bill and Joyce Sexton campaigned both Turko's Turn and her dam, Turbo Launch (by Relaunch). The two distaffers were stakes winners. Although bred in John Dolan's name, Turko's Turn actually was bred by both families.

The Dolans, who no longer maintain a breeding operation, have been partners with the Sextons going back three decades. The couples have a horse in training, and the Dolans maintain a separate racing stable. They race in the warm months at Canterbury and in the winter at Turf Paradise and Southern California.

The KTOB also honored the breeders of the 2001 Kentucky-bred champions, the Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund (KTDF) leaders, and recipients of the P.A.B. Widener Award, William C. Coman Award, Charles W. Engelhard Award, and Hardboot Breeder Award. The other honorees were JUDDMONTE FARM, P.A.B. Widener Award; OVERBROOK FARM, leading owner; ROBERT H. and BEA ROBERTS, leading breeders; BERNIE FLINT, leading trainer; DEHERE, leading sire; GUIDED TOUR, leading earner; SHEIKH MOHAMMED AL MAKTOUM, Coman Humanitarian Award; JOHN HENDERSON, Charles W. Engelhard Award; and ROBERT E. COURTNEY, Hardboot Breeder Award.

Honored as champion Kentucky-breds of 2001 were MONARCHOS, horse of the year; TEMPERA, 2-year-old filly; JOHANNESBURG, 2-year-old male; XTRA HEAT, 3-year-old filly; POINT GIVEN, 3-year-old male; SPAIN, handicap female; ALBERT THE GREAT, handicap male; TRANQUILITY LAKE, turf female; FANTASTIC LIGHT, turf male and Kentucky-bred racing abroad; SQUIRTLE SQUIRT, sprinter; and ELECTRON, steeplechase horse.

Broodmares of the Year
2001 Turko's Turn
2000 Primal Force
1999 Anne Campbell
1998 In Neon
1997 Slightly Dangerous
1996 Personal Ensign
1995 Northern Sunset
1994 Fall Aspen
1993 Glowing Tribute
1992 Weekend Surprise
1991 Toll Booth
1990 Kamar
1989 Relaxing
1988 Grecian Banner
1987 Banja Luka
1986 Too Bald
1985 Dunce Cap
1984 Hasty Queen
1983 Courtly Dee
1982 Best in Show
1981 Natashka
1980 Key Bridge
1979 Smartaire
1978 Primonetta
1977 Sweet Tooth
1976 Gazala
1975 Shenanigans
1974 Cosmah
1973 Somethingroyal
1972 Moment of Truth
1971 Iberia
1970 Levee
1969 All Beautiful
1968 Delta
1967 Kerala
1966 Juliets Nurse
1965 Pocahontas
1964 Maid of Flight
1963 Misty Morn
1962 Track Medal
1961 Striking
1960 Siama
1959 Knight's Daughter
1958 Miss Disco
1957 Belle Jeep
1956 Swoon
1955 Iron Reward
1954 Traffic Court
1953 Gaga
1952 Ace Card
1951 Alpenstock
1950 Hildene
1949 Easy Lass
1948 Our Page
1947 Potheen
1946 Bloodroot