Velazquez Voted to Participate in NTRA All-Star Jockey Challenge

Jockey John Velazquez was voted into the NTRA All-Star Jockey Championship to be held at Lone Star Park June 21 in an online poll at

Velazquez received 420 of 2,603 votes cast over a three-day period to narrowly edge runner-up Pat Valenzuela (391 votes). Mike Smith finished third with 347 votes.

Velazquez joins 10 other jockeys invited Tuesday, with a 12th slot to be filled by Lone Star Park's leading jockey through the first Sunday in June. Through Friday's racing, Corey Lanerie leads the standings with 33 wins, followed by Anthony Lovato and Gerard Melancon. The 10 other jockeysinvited to participate are Robby Albarado, Russell Baze, Jorge Chavez, Eddie Delahoussaye, Kent Desormeaux, Victor Espinoza, Chris McCarron, Laffit Pincay Jr., Edgar Prado, and Alex Solis.