Biszantz Re-elected Chairman of TOBA

Gary Biszantz was re-elected chairman of the Board of Trustees of The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association Friday.

Also elected to three-year terms were new members Lucy Young-Boutin, Tracy Farmer, B. Wayne Hughes, Peter Karches, Tammy Samuel-Balaz, Fred Seitz, and Stuart Subotnick.

Re-elected to three-year terms were Biszantz, Peter Callahan, Robert Clay, Don Dizney, Greg Goodman, Seth Hancock, Robert Lewis, Robert McNair, and Herb Moelis.

"I am honored to return as chairman of TOBA," said Biszantz. "We have a very strong board of trustees who have made a significant investment in the sport. The owners and breeders need an influential voice in our industry and we at TOBA will work to provide it."

Steve Duncker was elected chairman of the TOBA American Graded Stakes Committee, replacing Russell Jones, Jr., who was required to step down due to term limits.

New members of the committee include Rollin Baugh, who was appointed to a five-year term. Baugh joins prior TOBA appointees Duncker, Biszantz, Dell Hancock, and Barry Schwartz.

Calder Race Course racing secretary Robert Umphrey was reappointed to a three-year term as a racing official member of the committee, and Larry Craft, racing secretary at Lone Star Park, was named to complete the remaining two years of the late Howard Battle's term. Other members are Frank Gabriel, Mike Lakow, and Tom Robbins.