Wilson Reaches Top 20 of All-Time Winners

Edited from track notes

With a victory in today's third race at Laurel Park, jockey Rick Wilson tied Hall of Fame rider Eddie Arcaro for the 20th spot on the all-time win list. Both have 4,779 career wins.

"It's an honor just to be mentioned in the same sentence as Eddie Arcaro," said Wilson, who won his first race in 1972. "But I've been around a long time so the wins do add up."

Wilson, who returned to the saddle 11 days ago after missing 54 weeks recovering from a broken leg, guided Da Charm to a driving half-length victory to tie Arcaro, who rode 17 classic winners, including a record six in the Preakness Stakes.

"It's really a big honor," added Wilson, who has two wins in 14 mounts since returning on October 26. "I've been fortunate to ride for many good trainers who put me on live horses. That's the main part of it all is having the horse to give you a chance."

Rodolfo Baez ranks 19th on the all-time win list with 4,875 victories. Maryland-based rider Mario Pino is 18th with 5,044.