Swan Re-Elected Chair of The Jockeys' Guild; Membership Soars

Edited release from The Jockeys' Guild
The Jockeys' Guild, Inc. concluded its National Assembly on Friday with the re-election of Ms. Tomey Jean Swan to the post of chairman of the board. The two-day event was attended by over 150 members, spouses, and staff. Sixty-four of the seventy-five voting colonies across the country were represented.

Highlights included:

--Approval to adopt a new Scale of Weights standard;

--Presentation of 50-year Jockey Guild membership pins to James Nichols and William Passmore;

--Announcement that the Guild has increased its active membership by 48% during the past 17 months, with total active membership of 901;

--Presentation by Marsh McClennan of a national workers' compensation insurance plan available to those tracks not currently protected;

--Creation of the board of counselors, with members consisting of recently retired jockey's Robert Colton, Chris McCarron, and Michael McCarthy and jockey Earlie Fires;

--Creation of the board of trustees for the Disabled Jockeys' Endowment, with membership consisting of: David Woodcock (chairman) founder of INC Magazine; John Joseph (executive director), former chairman of West Coast Bank Corp. and Sunwest Bank; Wes Parker, former first baseman for the Los Angeles Dodgers; Dr. Richard Vanis, orthopedic surgeon; Merlin Olsen, Hall of Fame defensive tackle for the Los Angeles Rams and actor; Joe Harper, CEO of Del Mar Race Track; and Gary Biszantz, chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association and owner of Cobra Farms.

--Election of the 2003 senate: Robbie Albarado, Joe Badilla, G.R. Carter, Jon Court, Jorge Chavez, Tim Doocy, David Flores, Miguel Espindola, Casey Lambert, Jerry La Sala, Glen Murphy, Randy Meier, Laffit Pincay, Jr., Brain Peck, Twei Reavey, Guy Smith, Alex Solis, Ron Warren

--Election of the 2003 board of directors: Tomey Jean Swan (Chair), Kent Desormeaux (Vice Chair), Deidre Panas (Secretary), Edwin King, Jr. (Treasurer), at-large directors include Robbie Davis, Larry Reynolds, Abad Cabassa, David Shepard, and Ray Sibille.