NTRA 'Moment of the Year' Voting Begins

Edited release from NTRA
Voting is underway at the National Thoroughbred Racing Association's Web site, www.ntra.com, for the fourth annual "NTRA Moment of the Year." Voters can choose from among 10 images, drawn from the year's racing through the Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships. Those selecting the winning image automatically will be entered in a random drawing for a grand prize of $1,000. The winning moment will be announced at the Jan. 27, 2003, Eclipse Award ceremony in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the images and events that fans can choose from are:

--War Emblem wires the field in the Kentucky Derby.

--The sports world mourns the passing of the last living Triple Crown winner, Seattle Slew.

--War Emblem proves the Derby was no fluke by capturing the Preakness Stakes.

--Sarava registers the biggest upset in Belmont Stakes history.

--Chris McCarron wins his farewell race aboard Came Home in the Affirmed Handicap.

--You barely outfinishes Carson Hollow in a stirring renewal of the Test Stakes.

--Pat Day becomes the leading money-earning jockey of all time, riding With Anticipation to victory in the Sword Dancer Handicap.

--Azeri dominates her opponents in the Breeders' Cup Distaff.

--Storm Flag Flying reclaims the lead in deep stretch to become a third generation Breeders' Cup winner in the Long John Silver's Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies.

--Volponi springs the upset in the Breeders' Cup Classic for Hall of Fame trainer Phil Johnson.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year is the fans' counterpart to the Eclipse Awards, which are voted on by the media and racing officials," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president- industry relations and marketing. "It provides fans with a means of saluting the people and horses that make our sport so appealing. They've responded enthusiastically to this award during the last three years, and we look forward to seeing which Moment they select as this year's winner."

Fans 18 years and older can register to vote online at www.ntra.com. Entries must be received by 11:59 p.m. (ET) on Monday, January 13, 2002. Void where prohibited. All federal, state and local laws and regulations apply. A complete set of rules is available online or by contacting NTRA Communications.

To Vote and Get More Information, NTRA