New York Turf Writers Present Awards

Hans Stahl, who retired as President of The Jockey Club last year; the connections of Breeders' Cup Classic (gr. I) upset winner Volponi; and Evening Attire, who won at least one stakes race on every New York Racing Association track last year head the New York Turf Writers Association's list of honorees for 2002.

Stahl was named winner of the Alfred G. Vanderbilt Award as the individual who did the most for racing, while Team Volponi, trainer Phil "P.G." Johnson,w as named winner of the inaugural NYTWA's Presidents' Award. Evening Attire was the unanimous choice as winner of the Secretarit Award as New York's Horse of the Year.

The other award recipients are: Left Bank, C.V. Whitney Award for special achievement; Jockey Edgar Prado, Fourstardave Award for special achievement at Saratoga; Gander, Big Apple Award for top New York-bred; Sanford Goldfarb, outstanding owner; the Phipps family and Edward P. Evans, Ogden Phipps Award for outstanding breeder; trainers Bobby Frankel and Todd Pletcher, Woody Stephens Award for outstanding trainer; and jockey John Velazquez, Eddie Arcaro Award for outstanding jockey.

The awards will be presented at the NYTWA's 80th Annual Awards Dinner at the Gideon Putnam Hotel, Saratoga Springs, N.Y. The dinner will be held Aug. 18.