Russell Baze Wins Eighth Isaac Murphy Award

Jockey Russell Baze has won his eighth consecutive Isaac Murphy Award, which goes to the rider earning the highest winning percentage with at least 500 mounts.

In 2002, Baze led all North American riders with 431 winners from 1,508 mounts, a winning percentage of .286. Jerry Bailey, who led all jockeys in earnings with $19,271,814, ranked second in winning percentage at .256.

The rest of the top ten was Josiah Hampshire Jr. (23.5%); Ramon Dominguez (23.2%); Pat Day (22.3%); Ryan Fogelsonger (21.8%); Jorge Bourdieu (21.7%); Anthony Black (21.5%); Jason Lumpkins (21.4%); and Gerard Melancon (21.3%).

The National Turf Writers Association makes the annual award, named for legendary 19th century black jockey Isaac Murphy, who won with 44% of his career mounts.

Baze is the only one to win the award since the NTWA started it in 1995.