John Adger New TTA President

John Adger was elected president of the Texas Thoroughbred Association. The election took place at their annual board meeting Jan. 17 at the Hilton Airport Austin in Austin, Texas.

Lee Ackerley was elected first vice president and Gene Palmeri was elected second vice president. Larry T. Smith will be the secretary/treasurer.

Three at-large positions on the executive committee were filled by board members:Michael Barnett, Bill Heiligbrodt, and Bill Clifton. Jim Ward, the out-going president, is automatically given a seat on the executive committee.

A board spot held by Kirsten Johnson was filled by James Cassels. Johnson has moved to Kentucky and is no longer able to sit on the board. One new board member is Dr. Jackie Ridge of Lott, Texas. Dr. Shirley Browne returns to the board to represent the Southeast Region.