Death of Seattle Slew Chosen as

The death of champion Seattle Slew was selected by racing fans as the 2002 "NTRA Moment of the Year." An online pole conducted the voting and the results were announced at the Jan. 27 Eclipse Awards dinner in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Seattle Slew died of natural causes on May 7, exactly 25 years to the day since his historic Kentucky Derby (gr. I) victory, at John Sikura's Hill 'n' Dale Farm near Lexington. The last living Triple Crown winner died at age 28 and was buried at the farm.

Fans chose from 10 pre-selected moments. The moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the images and events that fans decided among were:

- War Emblem wire the field in the Kentucky Derby;
- The sports world mourns the death of the last living Triple Crown winner Seattle Slew;
- War Emblem proves the Derby was no fluke by winning the Preakness Stakes (gr. I);
- Sarava registers the biggest upset in Belmont Stakes (gr. I) history;
- Chris McCarron wins his farewell race aboard Came Home in the Affirmed Handicap (gr. I);
- You barely out finishes Carson Hollow in the Test Stakes (gr. I);
- Pat Day becomes the leading North American money-earning jockey of all time, riding With Anticipation to victory in the Sword Dancer Handicap (gr. IT);
- Azeri dominates her opponents in the Breeders' Cup Distaff (gr. I);
- Storm Flag Flying reclaims the lead in deep stretch to become a third generation Breeders' Cup winner in the Long John Silver's Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies (gr. I);
- Volponi springs the upset in the Breeders' Cup Classic (gr. I) for Hall of Fame trainer Phil Johnson.

The first-ever "NTRA Moment of the Year" was the scene involving Charismatic and the late jockey Chris Antley following the 1999 Belmont Stakes (gr. I). The following year's winner was the stretch run of the 2000 Breeders' Cup Classic, which saw Tiznow hold off Giant's Causeway to take the win at the wire. Last year, it was Tiznow again as fans selected his repeat victory in the Classic over Sakhee.