Adminniestrator Will Go Long in San Luis Rey

Adminniestrator, who has won his last two races, including the inaugural $500,000 Barretts/CTBA Turf at 1 1/8 miles in the Sunshine Millions on Jan. 25, will stretch out to 12 furlongs in Saturday's $250,000 San Luis Rey Handicap (gr. IIT) at Santa Anita.

The tough 6-year-old gelding's versatility and consistency are a matter of record. But until trainer Paddy Gallagher saw who else was entered, he was on the fence about whether Adminniestrator would run in Saturday's $250,000 San Luis Rey Handicap (gr. IIT) at 1 ½ miles on the turf.

Adminniestrator worked four furlongs Wednesday morning on Santa Anita's fast main track in :48.80.

With his little winning streak, Adminniestrator has a 9-8-2 record from 34 starts, with earnings of $710,101 for owner Nico Nierenberg of La Jolla, California.

Del Mar Handicap (gr. IIT) winner Delta Form will carry top weight of 117 pounds. This is his first start since a last-place finish in the Hong Kong Vase in December.

With turf handicap division leaders Grammarian, Johar, and The Tin Man all sidelined, a field of 10 was entered.

One leading contender is Special Matter, second to The Tin Man in the San Luis Obispo Handicap (gr. IIT) on Feb. 15.

Requete and Sumitas, the first two finishers in the San Marino Handicap on Feb. 20, and Night Patrol, who won the Oak Tree Breeders' Cup Mile (gr. IT) last October, will also merit consideration in a wide-open event.

Trainer Bobby Frankel entered Blue Steller, Requete, and Sumitas. Blue Steller was fourth in the San Gabriel Handicap (gr. IIT) behind Grammarian on Dec. 29.

Juddmonte Farms' homebred Requete brings a two-race win streak as well. This will be his first try at the 12-furlong distance.

Sumitas, a 7-year-old, is winless in five starts at a distance of at least 1 1/2 mile and has not won since the Knickerbocker Handicap (gr. IIT) at Belmont in October of 2001.

$250,000 San Luis Rey Handicap (gr. IIT, 3:37 p.m.), 4 & up, 1 1/2 mile on turf
PP. Horse, Wgt., Jockey
1. Special Matter (FL), 113, Tyler Baze
2. Champion Lodge (IRE), 113, Alex O. Solis
3. Adminniestrator (CA), 116, David R. Flores
4. Sumitas (GER), 115, Patrick A. Valenzuela
5. Tenaja Trail (KY), 111, Corey S. Nakatani
6. Requete (GB), 113, Jose Valdivia, Jr.
7. Night Patrol (KY), 114, Victor Espinoza
8. Bonaguil (KY), 110, Tony Farina
9. Delta Form (AUS), 117, Mike E. Smith
10. Blue Steller (IRE), 116, Kent J. Desormeaux