Repeat Winners for Three Kentucky Awards

Jockey Jon Court, trainer Bernie Flint, and owners Ken and Sarah Ramsey continued remarkable runs of success on the Kentucky racing circuit in 2002 and all have been named repeat winners of 13th Kentucky Thoroughbred Media awards that honor the jockey, trainer, and owner who collected the highest total of victories at Kentucky racetracks each year.

Court, Flint, and the Ramseys will receive their KTM awards March 22 at Turfway Park during the racing program headlined by the $500,000 Lane's End Stakes for 3-year-olds on the Kentucky Derby trail. The awards are co-sponsored by KTM and The Jockey Club Information Systems, which provides statistical information for the awards that are based on total victories in each category during the calendar year at Churchill Downs, Ellis Park, Keeneland, Kentucky Downs, and Turfway Park.

Court rode 181 winners at Kentucky tracks in 2002. Flint earned his fifth consecutive KTM trainer award, and sixth overall, with 94 winners at Kentucky tracks last year. Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, who own Ramsey Farm near Nicholasville, Ky., earned the designation as the owner of the year for the third
consecutive year after their horses won 48 races.

The KTM is an organization of print and electronic journalists, photojournalists, and publicists who work in Kentucky's racing and breeding industries.