Men's Exclusive Back at Best Track in L.A. Times

Men's Exclusive seeks to become the first 10-year-old to win a stakes race at Hollywood Park Saturday in the $200,000 Los Angeles Times Handicap (gr. III) at six furlongs.

Five-year-old gelding Disturbingthepeace carries high weight of 120 pounds in a strong field of 10 and will break from the rail under jockey Victor Espinoza.

The track record for the oldest stakes winner, 9, is shared by John Henry in the 1984 Sunset Handicap and Native Desert in the 2002 TVG Khaled Stakes. Native Desert missed a Khaled repeat at 10 by a neck on April 26.

Men's Exclusive, despite a long history of foot problems, has recorded 11 firsts and 16 seconds in 44 starts and earned $1,433,528, 14th on the all-time California-bred earnings list.

Men's Exclusive has shown a particular fondness for Hollywood Park, with four firsts and four seconds in 12 starts. The gelding won this race, previously called the Los Angeles Handicap, in 1997 and finished second in it in 1999. He also won the Vernon O. Underwood Stakes during the Autumn Meet in 2000 and 2001.

Alex Solis, who rode Men's Exclusive to an allowance victory at Santa Anita in his last start March 19, has the call back. The old-timer will carry 117 pounds.

Hombre Rapido worked five furlongs in a bullet :57 for John Sadler Sunday for the race. Hombre Rapido, who set a track record of 1:01.67 for 5 1/2 furlongs on a wet-fast track Hollywood track on Dec. 20 under Jose Valdivia, Jr., will again have the services of Valdivia. Hombre Rapido faded to last in a field of six in the stake last year after contesting a brisk pace.

Echo Eddie will carry 117 pounds and jockey Gary Stevens.

$200,000 Los Angeles Times Handicap (gr. III, formerly Los Angeles Handicap), 3 & up, 6 furlongs
PP. Horse, Wgt., Rider
1. Disturbingthepeace (CA), 120, Victor Espinoza
2. Golden Hare (KY), 115, Mike E. Smith
3. Medecis (GB), 115, Jerry D. Bailey
4. Men's Exclusive (CA), 117, Alex O. Solis
5. Publication (KY), 115, David Romero Flores
6. Do Whats Right (KY), 108, Felipe F. Martinez
7. Giovannetti (CA), 116, Patrick A. Valenzuela
8. Echo Eddie (CA), 117, Gary L. Stevens
9. Hombre Rapido (KY), 114, Jose Valdivia, Jr.
10. Laffit (WA), 110, Tyler Baze