Dominion Award Nominations Now Being Accepted

(edited press release)

Nominations are now being accepted for the next Dogwood Dominion Award, which goes to a man or woman who is truly an "unsung hero" of the Thoroughbred racing industry.

"There's no shortage of unsung heroes in our game, and I'm delighted that our award has spawned at least three other similar events of recognition to salute the little people who contribute so much and receive so little credit," said Cot Campbell, president of Dogwood Stable.

This year's winner will be honored at a luncheon on July 30 at the Saratoga Reading Room and presented with a $5,000 check and a bronze statue of Dominion. Judges for this award are Anne Campbell, Penny Chenery and Jerry Bailey.

Nominees should be individuals who have had a positive effect on the racing/breeding environment in which they are involved. Previous winners are Salty Roberts, Howard "Gelo" Hall, Peggy Sprinkles, Grace Belcuore, Nick Caras, Donald "Peanut Butter" Brown, Danny Perlsweig, Katherine Todd Smith, Julian "Buck" Wheat, and Jim Greene/Shirley Edwards.

Nominations should be received no later than June 30 and be mailed or faxed to: Mary Jane Howell, Dogwood Stable, P.O. Box 1549, Aiken, SC 29802. Fax: 803/642-2747. We also have an electronic nominating form on our web site: