Edgar Prado, aboard Sarava after 2002 Belmont victory.

Edgar Prado, aboard Sarava after 2002 Belmont victory.

Associated Press

Prado Wins Second NTRA All-Star Jockey Title

Edgar Prado turned in a first, second and third-place finish Friday night at Lone Star Park to edge Shane Sellers by a point for the title in the 2003 NTRA All-Star Jockey Championship in Grand Prairie, Texas.

Prado won the seventh race aboard 14-1 shot Haillye's A. T. M. and was second with DC Storm earlier.

But he needed a third-place finish in the final race of the four-heat competition with 9-1 Run Zeal Run to defeat Sellers, 22-21. Sellers, who was second in the finale (race 8) on Kentucky Bay, lost by a neck to favored Proven Cure and jockey Jose Santos.

It was the second All-Star Jockey title for Prado, who also won in 2000. Prado became the first repeat winner in the seven years of the unique competition.

Sellers, who captured the championship in 2001, won the first race of the competition, the fourth race on the Lone Star program, aboard 19-1 Pager. He also turned in a fourth-place finish in race 5 on Soccer George.

Santos, with 15 points, was third. Robby Albarado, who won race 5 on 8-1 shot Max's Friend, was unplaced in the other three heats and finished fourth.

Twelve points were awarded for each first-place showing, six for each second, four for every third and three for finishing fourth.

Final standings:
1. Edgar Prado (22)
2. Shane Sellers (21)
3. Jose Santos (15)
4. Robbie Albarado (12)
5. Russell Baze (9)
6. Eddie Martin, Jr. (7)
7. Pat Valenzuela (6)
8. Ryan Fogelsonger (4)
9. Richard Migliore (4)
10. Mike Smith (0)
11. Alex Solis (0)
12. Jorge Chavez (0)

Race 4 - Shane Sellers (12), Russell Baze (6), Richard Migliore (4), Eddie Martin Jr. (3)
Race 5 - Robby Albarado (12), Edgar Prado (6), Eddie Martin Jr. (4) Shane Sellers (3)
Race 7 - Edgar Prado (12), Pat Valenzuela (6), Ryan Fogelsonger (4), Jose Santos (3)
Race 8 - Jose Santos (12), Shane Sellers (6), Edgar Prado (4), Russell Baze (3)

(Chart, Equibase)