23 Remain Eligible for St. Leger

Edited from a release

A total of 23 horses remain after Tuesday's forfeit stage for the 227th running of the world's oldest Classic, the £400,000 Seabiscuit St Leger (Eng-I), with this year's race--run at Doncaster on Saturday, Sept. 13--promising to be an ultra-competitive renewal. There were 17 horses remaining at the same stage last year.

Aidan O'Brien's pair Brian Boru and Powerscourt, who finished first and second in the group I Racing Post Trophy on their last visit to Doncaster in October, head a five-strong entry from the Ballydoyle stable after respectively coming second and first in last week's group II Daily Telegraph Great Voltigeur Stakes at York.

Irish One Thousand Guineas heroine Yesterday, Irish Oaks (Ire-I) second L'Ancresse, and Curragh Cup runner-up Arundel complete a powerful team for O'Brien. The Dermot Weld-trained Maharib, who beat Arundel in the Curragh Cup, and Cruzspiel, winner of Sunday's Listed Ballycullen Stakes at Fairyhouse, add to a strong entry from Ireland.

As well as Powerscourt and Brian Boru, who were separated by a neck when in the Great Voltigeur Stakes, the York form is also represented by third-placed Hawk Flyer, bidding to give trainer Sir Michael Stoute a first win in the final Classic, and sixth home High Accolade, successful earlier this season in the King Edward VII Stakes at Royal Ascot. The filly Moments Of Joy is unbeaten in two starts, most recently when scoring in listed company at Glorious Goodwood, while another winner at the meeting, Peugeot Gordon Stakes victor Phoenix Reach, bids to give Andrew Balding a second Classic success in his first season with a license.

No current trainer boasts more Classic triumphs than Henry Cecil, who has won the St Leger four times before, and the master of Warren Place has entered Leicester maiden winner Sayadaw and Singleton, third in last week's Listed Galtres Stakes at York, to try and add to that total.

Westmoreland Road, winner of a conditions event at Newmarket on August 16, the James Given-trained Summitville, winner of last year's group III May Hill Stakes at Doncaster and third in last week's group I Yorkshire Oaks, Derby seventh Let Me Try Again, and Tote Ebor third Salsalino are others with good recent form.

Clive Brittain is doubly represented via Santando and Titurel, David Elsworth also has two in the race, Gold Medallist and Wavertree Boy, Brian Meehan has entered Hilbre Island, who has not run since finishing sixth in the Predominate Stakes at Goodwood in May, while Forest Magic has not been out since winning the Listed Zetland Stakes at Newmarket in November.

Steven Clarke, Doncaster's Racecourse Manager, commented: "The 2003 Seabiscuit St Leger is one of the most open in recent years with plenty of entries looking to have excellent chances. The race promises to provide a fitting climax to four wonderful days of racing at Doncaster from September 10 to 13."

There is a £25,000 supplementary entry stage for the Seabiscuit St Leger on Monday, Sept. 8.

THE SEABISCUIT ST LEGER STAKES, Class A, group I, total prize fund £400,000. Doncaster, Saturday, Sept. 13, 2003, 1m 6f 132yds. For three-year-olds only, entire colts and fillies. Entries closed Wednesday, July 9, 2003 (48 entries). Forfeit stage Tuesday, August 26, 2003 (23 remain). £25,000 supplementary entry stage Sept. 8, 2003. Five-day confirmation stage Monday, Sept. 8, 2003. Final 48-hour declaration stage 10.00am, Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003.

Horse, owner, trainer
ARUNDEL (IRE), Michael Tabor & Sue Magnier, Aidan O'Brien
BRIAN BORU, Sue Magnier, Aidan O'Brien
CRUZSPIEL, Pat Garvey, John Oxx
FOREST MAGIC (IRE), Peter Gleeson, Julian Smith, Loz Conway, Paul D'Arcy
GOLD MEDALLIST, Jeff Smith, David Elsworth
HAWK FLYER (USA), Saeed Suhail, Sir Michael Stoute
HIGH ACCOLADE, Lady Tennant, Marcus Tregoning
HILBRE ISLAND, E.H. Jones (Paints) Ltd., Brian Meehan
L'ANCRESSE (IRE), Michael Tabor & Sue Magnier, Aidan O'Brien
LET ME TRY AGAIN (IRE), Terry Mills, Terry Mills
MAHARIB (IRE), Hamdan Al Maktoum, Dermot Weld
MOMENTS OF JOY, Matthews Breeding and Racing, Rae Guest
PHOENIX REACH (IRE), Winterbeck Manor Stud, Andrew Balding
POWERSCOURT, Sue Magnier, Aidan O'Brien
SALSALINO, Nigel Bunter, Alan King
SANTANDO, Rabi Khan, Clive Brittain
SAYADAW (FR), Niarchos Family, Henry Cecil
SINGLETON, Khalid Abdullah, Henry Cecil
SUMMITVILLE, Mountain High Partnership,James Given
TITUREL, Brian Voak, Clive Brittain
WAVERTREE BOY (IRE), Wavertree Racing Club (2002),David Elsworth
WESTMORELAND ROAD (USA), Belinda Bauer, Amanda Perrett
YESTERDAY (IRE), Sue Magnier & Rosin Henry, Aidan O'Brien

23 entries remain after August 26 forfeit stage