Texas Hall of Fame to Honor 2003 Inductees

by Raymond Whelan

The Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame will induct jockey Cash Asmussen, trainer Willard Proctor, and graded stakes winner Two Altazano Oct. 4 during ceremonies at Retama Park near San Antonio.

Also slated for induction is the late Alan Bogan, often remembered as the dean of Texas horse racing writers.

Asmussen--his brother Steve is one of the nation's top trainers--earned the Eclipse Award as top apprentice jockey in 1979. In 1982, Asmussen moved to France, where he rode more than 3,000 winners and became a five-time riding champion. He won many prestigious races in the United States and Europe.

Horses trained by Proctor won 58 stakes and earned more than $12 million from the mid-1970s to 1996. Among his winners were Top Rung in the 1996 Lady's Secret Breeders' Cup (gr. II), Lovlier Linda in the 1985 Santa Margarita Invitational Handicap (gr. I), and The Carpenter in the 1979 Norfolk Stakes (gr. II).

Two Altazano earned nearly $700,000 and won nine of 20 starts, including six stakes, from 1993 to 1995. The Manzotti mare, trained by Michael Stidham, was declared Texas champion 3-year-old filly in 1994, when she won the Fair Grounds Oaks (gr. III), the Fantasy Stakes (gr. II), the Coaching Club American Oaks (gr. I), and the Monmouth Oaks (gr. II).

Before his death in 1997, Bogan covered racing in North Texas for six decades, and the Texas Thoroughbred carried his "Morning Line" column for 25 years. Lone Star Park runs the Alan Bogan Memorial for Texas-breds in his honor.

Previous inductees to the Hall of Fame include Texas natives Jerry Bailey and Bill Shoemaker, as well as Assault, the Texas-bred 1946 Triple Crown winner.