Monmouth Crowns Meet-End Champions

Five days of racing remain on the 2003 Monmouth Park meet calendar, but the races for leading honors have already been decided. The track's top performers will be honored in a Sept. 28 winner's circle ceremony.

Jockey Joe Bravo has earned his ninth riding title. Through Sept. 21, Bravo has piloted home 108 winners, 30 more than Jose C. Ferrer. Julian Pimentel is third with 63 wins, 11 more than the pair of Jose Velez Jr., and Chuck Lopez.

The trainer's race belongs to Mark Shuman, who spent his first summer on the Jersey Shore. Shuman has 50 wins, 17 more than last year's top conditioner Tim Hills. Allen Iwinski is third with 21 wins, one more than the trio of Linda Rice, Alan Seewald, and Ben Perkins, Jr.

Shuman still has a chance to beat the all-time wins in a season set by a trainer at Monmouth, that record belongs to J. Willard Thompson and John Tammaro III, who each won 55 races in 1974 and 1975, respectively. Shuman has five horses entered for Wednesday's card and four on Thursday.

The owner's race remains a complete runaway for Michael Gill, who has made 62 trips to the winner's circle. Gill's wins have set a new mark for most wins by an owner in a single season, besting William Martucci's 32 victories set in 1992. Second in the owner's standings belongs to E & G Stables with 17 wins, four more than Eddie Broome and Runnin Horse Farms.