Pass Rush to Make Indiana Homecoming

(from Hoosier Park report)
Pass Rush, 2002 Horse of the Year in Indiana, will make his first start at Hoosier Park Saturday in the $100,000 Michael Schaefer Mile.

The 4-year-old chestnut son of Crown Ambassador, bred at Swifty Farms in Seymour, Ind., first captured the attention of racing fans when he was sold for six figures after his maiden-breaking victory at Churchill Downs in 2001. The Indiana bred joined the Pat Byrne stable and now races under the stable colors of Michael Tabor.

Pass Rush, who has drawn post one, comes into the event off two consecutive second place finishes at Churchill Downs. He was second to Cappuchino in the $150,000 Ack Ack Handicap (gr. III) Oct. 26. The two horses will meet once again for Saturday's Schaeffer Mile.

Cappuchino, who has won $437,760 while recording seven wins in his career, will begin his journey from post four for trainer Jerry Hollendorfer, who co-owns him. Jon Court, three-time leading rider at Hoosier Park who was aboard in the Ack Ack, has been named to ride the 4-year-old son of Capote once again. Cappuchino will be making his first start at Hoosier Park.

A horse with a little experience over the track is Crafty Shaw, last year's winner of the Schaefer Mile. The 5-year-old son of Crafty Prospector will begin from post six in the nine-horse lineup with Craig Perret aboard. Crafty Shaw seeks his 13th career victory.

$100,000 Schaefer Mile Stakes, 3 & up, 1 mile
PP. Horse, Rider, Wgt.
1. Pass Rush (IN), Jose R. Martinez, Jr, 121
2. Fighting Indians (KY), Carlos H. Silva, 115
3. Mr. Mink (IN), Thomas L. Pompell, 113
4. Cappuchino (KY), Jon Kenton Court, 124
5. Mc Mahon (KY), E. T. Baird, 119
6. Crafty Shaw (KY), Craig Perret, 124
7. Cool N Collective (ON), Richard A. Bracho, 119
8. Wild Lies (VA), Rodney A. Prescott, 115
9. Patton's Victory (KY), Perry Compton, 124