Ten Fillies Try to Become the Next Delta Princess

Grade III winner Wacky Patty is among the 10 fillies scheduled to compete Friday night in the $250,000 Boyd's Gaming Delta Princess Stakes at Delta Downs. The daughter of Formal Dinner is the morning line favorite at 2-1 for the race.

Wacky Patty comes into the Delta Princess off a nose victory in the Nov. 7 Chargedupsycamore Stakes, also at Delta Downs. The filly began her racing career in California with trainer and owner James Chapman, then transferred to Cole Norman's barn after winning the July 4 Landaluce Stakes (gr. III).

Favored status aside, Wacky Patty will be trying a mile for the first time in the Delta Princess. In fact, none of the race's entrants have won at a mile, but a number of them have competed at the distance. One member of that group, Crypto's Best, finished third in the seven-furlong Chargedupsycamore Stakes. In September she ran third in the eight-furlong Arlington-Washington Lassie Stakes (gr. III). She is at 12-1 on the morning line.

Turn to Lass, a homebred racing for Alfred Nuckols' Hurstland Farm and Kevin McLaughlin, is the second choice on the morning line. This filly has two wins in three starts and comes to Delta Downs off a second-place finish to Stellar Jayne in the Pocahontas Stakes at Churchill Downs. The Pocahontas is also a mile race.

Post time is 6:45 p.m. at Delta Downs, and the Delta Princess is the 6th race on the card. All runners will carry 114 pounds.

The field for the $250,000 Boyd's Gaming Delta Princess Stakes, from the rail out:

PP, Horse, Jockey, Trainer, Morning Line
1--Turn to Lass, Jon Court, Eugene F. Brajczewski Jr., 5-2
2--Crypto's Best, Jason Tervort, Mark Thompson, 12-1
3--Rose Hunter, Shane Sellers, Tony Richey, 20-1
4--Salty Romance, Mike Smith, Patrick Biancone, 7-2
5--Family Favorite, Victor Espinoza, George Handy, 15-1
6--Questionable Past, Steven Bourque, James Hudson, 12-1
7--Wacky Patty, Jamie Theriot, Cole Norman, 2-1
8--Star's Kandi Kane, Roman Chapa, C.R. Trout, 20-1
9--In Rom, Terry Thompson, David Vance, 12-1
10--Silver Crown, Robby Albarado, Frank Springer, 8-1