International Jockey Challenge a Star-Studded Affair

Some of the top international jockeys, including Frankie Dettori, Kieren Fallon, Mick Kinane, Christophe Soumillon, and Victor Espinoza will square off Wednesday evening at Happy Valley Racecourse in Hong Kong for the International Jockey Championship.

For the IJC, jockeys are randomly allocated their mounts. The winner will be the one accumulating the most points during three races carrying a prize-money bonus of 30%. For each of the three races there are 12 points awarded to the winning jockey; six points to the runner-up, four points to the third-place finisher; three points to the fourth; and two points to the fifth.

The champion is the jockey with the highest total points and his reward will be HK$200,000 ($25,760), with HK$100,000 ($12,880) going to the runner-up.

The jockeys are, in alphabetical order:

Howard Cheng, Hong Kong

Frankie Dettori, representing the United Arab Emirates

Shane Dye, New Zealand

Victor Espinoza, United States

Kieren Fallon, Great Britain

Mick Kinane, Ireland

Damien Oliver, Australia

Olivier Peslier, France

Christophe Soumillon, France

Andrasch Starke, Germany

Yutaka Take, Japan

Cheng, 22, is in his sixth season of riding in Hong Kong and last month notched his 100th career winner. His biggest win to date came aboard Man of Honour in the 2001 Queen's Silver Jubilee Cup (HK-III).

Dettori, the main rider for Godolphin, has had success in Hong Kong, having ridden Fantastic Light to victory in the 2000 Hong Kong Cup (HK-I). In 1996, he won the Hong Kong Vase (HK-I) on Luso and the QEII Cup (HK-I) on Overbury.

Kinane, who first rode in Hong Kong in 1986-87, has ridden over 160 winners in Hong Kong. He was aboard Precision in his victory in last year's Hong Kong Cup.

Peslier won the IJC in 1998. He also won two major Hong Kong races: The Hong Kong Mile (HK-I) and Vase in 1999 aboard Docksider and Borgia, respectively.

Starke won the IJC in 2000.