Swan Re-Elected Jockeys' Guild Chairman

Tomey Jean Swan was elected to her third term as chairman of the board of directors of the Jockeys' Guild at the 63rd annual National Assembly in Dallas, Tex.

Swan is the first woman and first quarter horse rider to serve the organization's top position.

"Tomey Jean represents the best the jockey community has to offer," said Dr. Wayne Gertmenian, the Guilds' president and CEO. "Her understanding of the issues we face as an organization and as an industry is reflected in her confidence and support of Matrix [Capital Associates] and me."

Swan stated: "The Guild went through some very difficult growing pains this year, but in the end, it has served to strengthen our members' commitment to the new direction in which we are going. Dr. G and his staff have been given the senate's full support to move forward with the strategic plan they have developed. I am very pleased with where the Guild is headed."

In addition to the strategic plan, Guild members got their first look at the proposed TRA Negotiation Contract, received updates on current membership totals (1100 active members) and the Disabled Jockeys' Endowment, strengthened financial condition of the Guild, as well as the pending "logo" lawsuit in Kentucky.

In what has now become a tradition, the Guild presented 50- and 25-year membership pins to jockeys in attendance, including 50-year members: Luther Adkins, Raymond Arduini, John Covalli, Gilbert Simonis, Samuel Vergara, John "Jack" Wood.

In addition, 25-year membership pins were presented to the following jockeys in attendance: Jerry Burgess, Michael Campbell, Jerry La Sala, Larry Saumell, and Rick Wilson.

Nine new Senate positions were elected, all due to attrition. The new Senate consists of: Robby Albarado, Joe Badilla Jr., Abad Cabassa Jr., G.R. Carter, Jorge Chavez, Perry Compton, Jon Court, Robbie Davis, Kent Desormeaux, Miguel Espindola, David Flores, Jeff Johnston, Edwin King Jr., Casey Lambert, Jerry La Sala, Michael Luzzi, Randy Meier, Richard Migliori, Glen Murphy, Brian Peck, Larry Reynolds, David Shepherd, Ray Sibille, Alex Solis, Tomey Jean Swan, Rick Wilson, Ron Warren.

In addition to electing Swan as chairman, other directors holding positions for 2004 are: David Shepherd as vice chairman, Casey Lambert as secretary, and Ray Sibille as treasurer.

At-large directors for 2004 are: Abad Cabassa Jr., Robbie Davis, Kent Desormeaux, Edwin King Jr., and Larry Reynolds.

Re-elected to the board of counselors was Earlie Fires for a second consecutive term. Newly elected as a counselor was Laffit Pincay Jr. After retiring earlier this year and after two years as a senator, Pincay was elected to provide information to the new senate and board.