Breeders of Cup Winners to be Honored

Edited release from NTRA
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association and Breeders' Cup Limited, in conjunction with the Thoroughbred Club of America, will honor the victorious breeders of the 2003 Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships (all grade I races) at the 10th annual Breeders' Cup Ltd./Thoroughbred Club of America dinner on Sunday, Jan. 11, 6:00 p.m., at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Ky.

As a part of the presentation, breeders of the nine Breeders' Cup champions from last year's event at Santa Anita Park will each receive a miniature Ecorche trophy.

The winning breeders to be honored are as follows:

Lucy G. Bassett for Adoration (Ky), Breeders' Cup Distaff – Presented by Nextel; Wertheimer Farm/Wertheimer et Frere for Halfbridled (Ky), Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies; Niarchos Family for Six Perfections (FR), NetJets Breeders' Cup Mile; John T.L. Jones and H. Smoot Fahlgren for Cajun Beat (Ky), Breeders' Cup Sprint; Ballymacoll Stud Farm, Ltd. for Islington (IRE), Breeders' Cup Filly and Mare Turf; Jaime S. Carrion, Trustee for Action This Day (Ky), Bessemer Trust Breeders' Cup Juvenile; Sean Coughlin for High Chaparral (IRE); The Thoroughbred Corporation for Johar (Ky), John Deere Breeders' Cup Turf and Clovelly Farms for Pleasantly Perfect (Ky), Breeders' Cup Classic – Powered by Dodge.

Guest speaker on the program will be Jim Host, recently appointed Kentuckky secretary of commerce. John Asher and Mike Battaglia will serve as co-masters of ceremony.