Summer Mis, Wiggins Top illinois Champions Day

Reigning Illinois Horse of the Year Summer Mis and top 2003 3-year-old runner Wiggins will both compete on Illinois Champions Day at Hawthorne on Saturday.

The day will consist of six $100,000 added stakes events, all for Illinois runners.

Peach Of It Handicap
Julie's Prize, carrying 126 pounds, is the 7-5 morning line choice for the seven-horse Peach Of It Handicap for fillies and mares 3 and up at 1 1/16 miles. A winner of four of nine starts in 2003, she won this race last year and then was a runaway winner in the Illini Princess Handicap by 11 ΒΌ lengths last fall at Hawthorne. Trained by Anthony Mitchell, Julie's Prize will be ridden once again by Larry Sterling Jr. Her top competition will likely come from Asiel Stable's Rathleen, recently second in optional claiming allowance company. She will get 10 pounds from Julie's Prize in the Peach Of It.
Here's the field:
1. Rathleen (IL), Carlos H. Silva, 116, 2/1
2. Julie's Prize (IL), Larry J. Sterling, Jr., 126, 7/5
3. Invader (IL), Carlos Montalvo, 113, 15/1
4. Rustic Kitten (IL), Randall A. Meier, 111, 10/1
5. I Can Fan Fan (IL), E. T. Baird, 114, 20/1
6. Ioya Forever (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 114, 8/1
7. Gumbo Love (IL), Jesse M. Campbell, 112, 5/1

Governor's Lady Handicap
Another Richard Otto Stable's and Anthony Mitchell trainee will be a heavy favorite on Illinois Champions Day as 2003. Illinois Horse of the Year Summer Mis, assigned 128 pounds, is the even money choice in the Governor's Lady Handicap for older fillies and mares to go six furlongs. A winner in six of eight starts in 2003, Summer Mis won five straight races, including the Thoroughbred Club of America Stakes (gr. III) at Keeneland last fall. Larry Sterling Jr. rides Summer Mis again on Saturday.
The Field:
1. Fighting Fever (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 114, 5/1
2. Summer Mis (IL), Larry J. Sterling, Jr., 128, 1/1
3. Dharma Girl (IL), Carlos H. Silva, 115, 12/1
4. Ravalli Girl (IL), Shane Laviolette, 112, 6/1
5. Gracility (IL), Christopher A. Emigh, 118, 9/2
6. Cashmere Miss (IL), E. T. Baird, 116, 15/1
7. Akana (IL), Tommy Molina, 112, 6/1

Chicagoland Handicap
A competitive field of seven is set to line up in the Chicagoland Handicap for older colts sprinting three quarters. The 5-2 morning line choice in the race is Terry Renfrow & Eugene Young's Silver Bid. Trained by Joel Berndt, Silver Bid has already won over the track March 20, defeating Shandy and Summer Mis. Posting earnings of nearly $150,000 in 2003, Silver Bid has hit the board in 17 of 23 starts at this distance. Jockey Carlos Montalvo will ride Silver Bid once again in the Chicagoland. The top challenge looks to come from Out of my Way as he returns to Hawthorne on Saturday. Facing stakes runners at Fair Grounds in his last three starts, Out Of My Way posted a longshot win in the Taylor's Special on Feb. 22. Eddie Razo Jr will ride Out of my Way for trainer Greg Geier.
The Field:
1. Shandy (IL), Carlos H. Silva, 118, 4/1
2. Unlock the Vault (IL), E. T. Baird, 113, 6/1
3. Silver Bid (IL), Carlos Montalvo, 119, 5/2
4. Jimmy's Boy (IL), Cruz Contreras, 113, 8/1
5. Out of My Way (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 123
6. Freeway Ticket (IL), Jesse M. Campbell, 116, 9/2
7. Bold Caller (IL), Randall A. Meier, 113, 10/1

Milwaukee Avenue Handicap
Trainer Anthony Granitz's Wiggins makes his 4-year-old debut in the 1 1/16-mile Milwwaukee Avenue Handicap. A winner of five of seven starts in 2003, Wiggins posted strong wins in both the Round Table at Arlington and the Prairie Meadows Derby before defeating older runners in his final start of the year at Hawthorne in the Robert F. Carey Jr. Memorial Handicap. A winner of both of his Hawthorne starts, Wiggins will be ridden by Eddie Razo Jr. and is 2-1 in the morning line. Six others take on Wiggins in the Milwaukee Avenue, including last year's winner of the race, Baker Road.
The Field:
1. Baker Road (IL), Larry J. Sterling, Jr., 120, 6/1
2. Big Glori (IL), E. T. Baird, 112, 10/1
3. Classic Appeal (IL), Carlos H. Silva, 118, 5/1
4. Scooter Roach (IL), Jesse M. Campbell, 116, 8/1
5. Wiggins (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 122, 2/1
6. Garesche (IL), Carlos Montalvo, 116, 4/1
7. Act of War (IL), Christopher A. Emigh, 117, 7/2

Lady Hallie Stakes
Twelve 3-year-old fillies are scheduled to sprint in the Lady Hallie Stakes in what looks to be the most wide-open race on the Champions Day card. The 4-1 morning line favorite is John Hillier's No Beans. Trained by Scott Fairlie and ridden by Luis Espinoza, No Beans ran well in Candad before shipping to Hawthorne for the Showtime Deb last fall. Adding blinkers for that race, No Beans defeated 13 others in the race, winning by a length. She makes her first start since the Showtime Deb.
The Field:
1. Piano Tunner (IL), Jesse M. Campbell, 113, 12/1
2. Lady Laverne (IL), Tommy Molina, 113, 6/1
3. Wish for Gold (IL), Hiram G. Rivera, 115, 20/1
4. No Beans (IL), Jose L. Espinoza, 121, 4/1
5. Miss Denouncer (IL), Cruz Contreras, 115, 6/1
6. Barrel Racer (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 115, 8/1
7. Shootandcharge (IL), Shane Laviolette, 115, 10/1
8. Miss Outrageous (IL), Larry J. Sterling, Jr., 115, 12/1
9. Truely Unreal (IL), Christopher A. Emigh, 113, 8/1
10. Slewville (IL), Hiram G. Rivera, 113, 20/1
11. Journey Fever (IL), Iram Vargas Diego, 121, 5/1
12. Scarlet Reflection (IL), 113, 20/1

Land of Lincoln Stakes
Three-year-old colts and gelding sprint in the Land of Lincoln with an overflow field of 13 to line up. Trainer Frank Springer's Jaguar Friend is the 4-1 morning line choice in his third start in 2004. A winner of the Sun Power at Hawthorne last fall, Jaguar Friend recently comes in off a state-bred allowance win at Hawthorne on March 7. Eddie Perez takes the return ride on Jaguar Friend in the Land of Lincoln.
The Field:
1. Loaded Six String (IL), Carlos Montalvo, 114, 10/1
2. Prairie King (IL), Carlos H. Silva, 116, 5/1
3. Beamer'n Glick (IL), Randall A. Meier, 114, 12/1
4. Elite (IL), Eusebio Razo, Jr., 114, 8/1
5. Matthew's Blessing (IL), Uriel A. Lopez, 116, 30/1
6. Medicine Eyes (IL), Michelle Luttrell, 114, 30/1
7. Iron Rogue (IL), Shane Laviolette, 114, 20/1
8. Tanner Terrific (IL), Larry J. Sterling, Jr., 116, 9/2
9. Dyno Don (IL), Gilbert Concha, 116. 30/1
10. Ilya Balos (IL), E. T. Baird, 116, 10/1
11. Jaguar Friend (IL), Eduardo E. Perez, 122, 4/1
12. Mississippi Rain (IL), Jerry La Sala, 114, 8/1
13. Persuaggle (IL), Christopher A. Emigh, 116, 6/1