Preakness Media Award Winners Announced

Winners of the Preakness Stakes (gr. I) media awards for coverage of last year's race includes Sean Clancy for his recap that appeared in Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred and photographer Jeff Snyder for a photo that ran in The Blood-Horse's Preakness results issue.

Clancy will receive the David F. Woods Award for his story and Snyder will receive the Jerry Frutkoff Award for his photo of Funny Cide's powerful move on the far turn. Award will be presented at the May 13 Alibi Breakfast in the Terrace Dining Room at Pimlico. The presentation ceremony is scheduled for 9:30 a.m., two days prior to the Preakness. ESPN's Chris Lincoln will act as the master of ceremonies. The awards are decided by the Maryland Jockey Club.

The Old Hilltop Award will be bestowed upon two candidates. Gary West, Dallas Morning News columnist, and WBFF-TV's Bruce Cunningham will be recognized for their many years of distinguished coverage of racing.

The Special Award of Merit, which is given to someone who has made a positive impact on the racing industry, will be presented to trainer King Leatherbury, who last summer became the third trainer in history to win 6,000 races.

Hall of Famer Bud Delp, who conditioned Spectacular Bid to a win in the Preakness 25 years ago, will be the Honorary Postmaster.