Mike Kane Elected President of Turf Writers

(from NTWA release)
Mike Kane of the Schenectady Daily Gazette was elected president
of the National Turf Writers Association, replacing Jennie Rees of the Louisville Courier-Journal, whose two-year term expired.

Gary West of the Dallas Morning News was elected vice president, succeeding Kane in that position.

Elected as new directors were Rees, Pohla Smith of the Pittsburgh Gazette and Rick Snider of the Washington Times. Jay Hovdey of Daily Racing Form was elected to fill the one year remaining on West's term. Kevin Modesti of the Los Angeles Daily News and Jay Privman of Daily Racing Form are serving the second year of their director terms.