Turfway Park President Wins Seat on NTRA Board

Turfway Park president Bob Elliston has been elected to represent the independent Midwestern racetracks on the National Thoroughbred Racing Association board of directors.

An election apparently was held in April. The independent NTRA-member racetracks in the Midwestern region are Canterbury Park, Columbus Races, Fair Meadows Tulsa, Fonner Park, Hawthorne Race Course, Horsemen's Park, Kentucky Downs, Nebraska State Fair, Oaklawn Park, Prairie Meadows, River Downs, and Turfway Park.

The results of the election weren't made public, but in the NTRA annual report mailed to industry representatives the week of May 10, Elliston appears as the Midwestern region representative.

"I humbled to be associated with such a high-caliber group of folks," Elliston said May 18. "I think I bring a unique perspective to the board. Turfway represents a lot of tracks in the country."

Elliston referred to the fact Turfway competes with three riverboat casinos in nearby Indiana, as well as two Ohio racetracks that offer live racing and year-round full-card simulcasting. Turfway, located in Northern Kentucky, races about five months a year, mostly in the winter.

The Midwest seat had been held by Keeneland president Nick Nicholson, but because of reorganization, Keeneland got its own board seat. The other independent racetrack seats--Eastern and Western--are filled by Bruce Garland, senior executive vice president of racing for the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority, and Craig Fravel, executive vice president of the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club, respectively.

Seats held by Breeders' Cup, the National Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association, The Jockey Club, Churchill Downs Inc., and Magna Entertainment Corp. will be up for election by their respective organizations in June. Breeders' Cup has two seats on the board.

Racetracks owned by Churchill Downs Inc., Magna Entertainment Corp., or the New York Racing Association, which also have committed NTRA board seats, aren't eligible for regional voting.