Washington Announces Hall of Fame Nominations

(from Emerald Downs report)
A trio of national hall of fame members – jockeys Johnny Adams, Russell Baze and Alberto Johnson – are among the list of nominees for the 2004 Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame were released on Thursday.

A total of five nominees appear on the jockey, horse and trainer categories, while three were listed in the pre-1970 breeder category.

Both Adams, a three-time national riding champion, and Baze, fourth on the all-time winners' list, began their careers in Washington. Johnson, who won both the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes twice, was a native of Milan, Washington.

Additional jockey nominees include Doug Dodson, regular rider for Calumet Farms in the 1940s and 1950s, and Basil James, the nation's leading rider in 1936.

Horses nominated were: Saratoga Passage, the all-time leading money earner in Washington history; Sir William, winner of the 1957 Santa Anita Derby; Smogy Dew, multiple stakes winning filly; Sparrow Castle, two-time Washington Horse of the Year; and Turbulator, former world-record holder.

Legendary trainer Charlie Whittingham, who saddled horses between 1935 and 1940 in Washington, heads the list of trainer nominees. Also nominated is R.H. "Red" McDaniel, who was the leading trainer in the nation for five straight years.

Rounding out the list of trainer nominees is Frances Keller, first woman to win a training title in Washington; Bud Klokstad, all-time leading stakes winner in Washington; and Glen Williams, all-time leading stakes winner at Longacres.

Inductees will be announced on Sept. 1. Winners will be feted at the 2004 Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame banquet at Emerald Downs on Sept. 18, the day before the Washington Cup Day II.

A panel of 16 judges will select one inductee from each category. The panel consists of members from the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders Association, Washington HBPA, Emerald Downs and additional outside media members.

To be eligible, a horse must be a Washington-bred or have raced at least twice in Washington State. Trainers and jockeys must have been born in Washington or have competed at a Washington track for at least three full seasons. Breeders must have bred at least one Thoroughbred in Washington.

The full list of Washington Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame Nominees is:

Johnny Adams
Russell Baze
Doug Dodson
Basil James
Alberto Johnson

Saratoga Passage
Sir William
Smogy Dew
Sparrow Castle

Frances Keller
Bud Klokstad
R.H. Red McDaniel
Charlie Whittingham
Glen Williams

BREEDER (Pre-1970)
George Drumheller
C.F. Flower
C.J. Sebastian