Biszantz to Serve Fourth Term as Chairman of TOBA

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association has re-elected Gary Biszantz as chairman of its board of trustees. It will mark the fourth term for Biszantz. The action was taken Aug. 13 during the organization's annual board meeting in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

New members of the TOBA board who will serve three-year terms are Josephine Abercrombie, Antony Beck, Dr. John Chandler, Nadia Sanan, and Jack Wolf. Re-elected to three-year terms were current trustees John Amerman, W. Cothran Campbell, Robert Courtney, Jr., William Heiligbrodt, R.D. Hubbard, Robert Manfuso, Eugene Melnyk, Debby Oxley, Kenny Troutt, Tom Van Meter, and Charlotte Weber.

Named as officers for 2004-05 are Biszantz, chairman; Dan Metzger, president; Reynolds Bell, Jr. and John Phillips, vice-presidents; Troutt, secretary; and Manfuso, treasurer.

"I am honored to serve a fourth term as chairman of TOBA," Biszantz said in a release. "We continue to gain momentum on the development of the Thoroughbred Championship Tour and the implementation of uniform medication rules, and I look forward to working with the new and returning trustees to see these projects to their completion. The owners and breeders need a strong and influential voice in our industry, and we at TOBA will work to provide it."

In American Graded Stakes Committee business, Steve Duncker was re elected chairman for 2005. Amerman was appointed to a five-year term, replacing Biszantz, who completed two five-year terms. Others on the committee are Rollin Baugh, Dell Hancock, and Phillips.

Del Mar Thoroughbred Club racing secretary Tom Robbins was reappointed to a three-year term as a racing official member of the committee. Mike Harlow, director of racing at Santa Anita Park, was appointed to a three-year term replacing Larry Craft, who completed his term. Other racing officials on the committee are Frank Gabriel, Michael Lakow, and Robert Umphrey.

The graded stakes committee will hold its annual grading session Nov. 30-Dec. 1 in Lexington.