Steve Haskin, senior correspondent for <i>The Blood-Horse</i>.

Steve Haskin, senior correspondent for The Blood-Horse.

Anne M. Eberhardt

Cooksey, Threewitt, Haskin to be Honored

Retired jockey Patricia Cooksey, trainer Noble Threewitt, and Blood-Horse senior correspondent Steve Haskin have been selected to receive awards from the National Turf Writers Association during the organization's dinner Oct. 27 in Dallas in conjunction with Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships week.

Cooksey, who will receive the Mr. Fitz Award for typifying the spirit of racing, retired earlier this year as the second leading female jockey of all time with 2,127 wins. Cooksey, 46, is the first woman to ride a stakes winner at Churchill Downs and the second female to ride in the Kentucky Derby (gr. I). She had fought back after successful treatment for breast cancer before her retirement.

Threewitt, 93, will receive the Joe Palmer Award for meritorious service to racing. He is still training in Southern California and also oversees a health-care clinic, named in his honor, at Santa Anita Park. Threewitt won the 1954 Florida Derby and Wood Memorial with Correlation, who was favored in that year's Kentucky Derby. Some of his other top winners were Perizade, Try Sheep, Debonaire Junior, Devoted Brass, King of Cricket, and Theresa's Tizzy.

Haskin, 57, will receive the Walter Haight Award for lifetime excellence in turf writing. He is the senior correspondent for The Blood-Horse and former national correspondent for Daily Racing Form. He is the author of five books on racing and editor of the Kentucky Derby and Breeders' Cup souvenir magazines.

The Mr. Fitz Award is named for the late trainer James Fitzsimmons, who trained Triple Crown winners Gallant Fox and Omaha; the Joe Palmer Award is named for the late racing editor of the New York Herald Tribune; and the Walter Haight Award is named for the late racing columnist for the Washington Post.