Ramseys Selected for 2004 Warner L. Jones Horsemen of the Year Award

Ken and Sarah Ramsey will receive the 2004 Warner L. Jones Jr. Horseman of the Year Award at the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners annual dinner Nov. 13 at the Kentucky Derby Museum.

Since 1988, KTO has presented the award to a member of the racing industry who displays the spirit and passion for the sport exhibited by Jones, the late Kentucky breeder and owner who also served as chairman of Churchill Downs Incorporated.

KTO president Mardou Keenan said the Ramseys deserve this prestigious award for their unparalleled success on the national racing scene, as well as for their service to the Thoroughbred industry. In addition to winning spring meet titles at both Gulfstream Park and Keeneland this year, the Ramseys achieved a record-setting ninth owner's title at Churchill Downs.

During the summer, the couple collected grade I wins in the Whitney Handicap at Saratoga and in the Secretariat at Arlington in a span of eight days.

At Churchill Downs, the Ramseys' spring title allowed them to break the record for most meet championships as they surpassed the mark of eight set by legendary owners T. Allie Grissom and the famed Calumet Farm.