Jockeys Named for All Churchill Races Wednesday and Thursday

Despite the absence of 15 riders who were ejected from Churchill Downs for refusal to commit to mounts on the Wednesday and Thursday race cards in a dispute over insurance, jockeys have been named to ride horses entered for those two days, according to a statement from the track.

Churchill reported that jockeys were named Tuesday morning for all 121 horses entered for the 10-race program on Wednesday, Nov. 10 and for the 126 horses that were entered to run on the Thursday, Nov. 11 program, which also is scheduled to include 10 races.

Included among the jockeys who committed to ride Wednesday and Thursday are 10 riders who committed Sunday to accept mounts and honor their riding calls for Wednesday and Thursday and five additional members of the local jockey colony who could not be contacted by the track on Sunday.

The other members of the Churchill Downs jockeys colony that have agreed to ride through the meet include William Troilo, Kevin Krigger, James Long, Mathieu Adam, and apprenticed Jordan Charkoudian.

Other members of the regular roster of Churchill Downs jockeys who have committed to ride through the remaining 14 days of the track's "Fall Festival of Racing" include all-time leading jockey Pat Day, Brice Blanc, Tammy Fox, Brian Hernandez, Jr. (apprentice), Joe Johnson, Eddie Martin, Jr., John McKee, Larry Melancon, and Juan Molina, Jr. (apprentice).

Riders who chose not to commit to accept mounts for Wednesday and Thursday's races and ride through the rest of the meet in a dispute over insurance were ejected from Churchill Downs through the end of the meet on Nov. 27. That group includes: Robby Albarado, Rafael Bejarano, Calvin Borel, Dean Butler, Jesus Castanon, Joe Deegan, Mark Guidry, Jeff Johnston, Willie Martinez, Orlando Mojica, Brian Peck, Craig Perret, Dean Sarvis, Justin Shepherd, and Eddie Zuniga.