Oregon Jockeys Benefit From Incentive Program

Several jockeys earned bonsuses this summer under the Oregon Racing Commission's jockey incentive program, which is designed to encourage riders to participate at fair meets in the state.

The jockeys who met the qualifications and earned a bonus were Twyla Beckner ($10,814), Darlene Bradon ($7, 693), Jaime Martinez ($5,764), Jim Bob Whiteside ($5,632), Tim O'Neal ($4,291), and Bobbie Jean Brown ($802).

The incentive program, funded by revenue from account wagering hubs in Oregon, was developed in 2002 with the intent of drawing jockeys to fair meets that historically have been short of riders.

Jockeys were required to participate and ride in four of the five fair meets: Grants Pass, Union, Prineville, Burns, and Tillamook. Jockeys earned points at each meet for entering races and for finishing first through fourth.