<i>Form's</i> Cohen Elected NYTWA President

Irwin Cohen, vice president and senior editor of the Daily Racing Form, was elected president of the New York Turf Writers Association Nov. 27 during a general membership meeting in the pressbox at Aqueduct Race Track.

Ed Fountaine of the New York Post stepped down after two years as the president, but was elected secretary-treasurer. Brad Telias of CBS Radio and The Sporting News was elected vice president.

The New York Turf Writers Association was founded in 1923. The organization is made up of 63 members who represent most major media outlets in New York as journalists, broadcasters, columnists and writers. The organization also has six associate members and five honorary members.

The NYTWA is a charitable and benevolent organization that has donated thousands of dollars to worthy causes.

Three new members were also inducted into the organization during the meeting: Bill Finley of the New York Times, Steve Haskin of The Blood-Horse and Tom Pedulla of U.S.A. Today.