27 Nominated For Tampa's Inaugural Stakes

Edited from Tampa Bay Downs release
Twenty six young colts and geldings and one filly have been nominated to the 19th renewal of Tampa Bay Downs' $60,000 Inaugural Stakes--the track's traditional opening day event--set for Saturday when the oval kick's off its 79th season.

The connections of last year's winner, Tricks of Glory, Ron Allen Sr., and Equest Racing Stable LLC, have teamed up again this year with their nominee Summer Legacy, a five-length maiden special weight winner at Great Lakes Downs.

Allen, who went on to win four Tampa stakes last year to lead all trainers in that category on his way to finishing in a tie for second in the overall trainer standings, has two other nominees to the race-- Jerry Campbell's Hail to the Cat and Its His Time, winner of this year's Michigan Futurity at Great Lakes Downs--who would carry the colors of Monterrey Stables should he run.

Other prominent contenders nominated to the six-furlong main-track test for 2-year-olds include: Finger Lakes Juvenile winner Boston Raider; Captain Lindsay, fourth by only 3 1/2 lengths in Calder's Birdonthewire Stakes; Dr. Socrates, third in the $125,000 Swynford Stakes at Woodbine; Tir Na Og, an unraced half-brother to graded stakes winning sprinter Shake You Down; and Roman Candles from the barn of last year's leading Tampa trainer Lynne Scace.

Bred by Scace, and owned by C. Robert Valeri, Roman Candles broke his maiden in an Oct. 26 Meadowlands maiden special weight test that saw theLite the Fusecolt complete the six furlongs in a sizzling 1:10.81.

Onyx Star, the only filly nominated to the Inaugural, hails from the barn Linda Rice's. The Kinsman Farm homebred brings a 3-2-0-1 record--all against fillies--into the race should she run.


Horse, Trainer, Owner--Notes

Boston Raider, M. Anthony Ferraro, Langpap Stables--FL Juvenile winner has 2-race win streak

Captain Lindsay, Emanuel Tortora, James R. Lewis, Jr.,--Fourth Birdonthewire Stakes

D'artagnans' Spirit, Kirk Ziadie, Steven White--1-1; won at first asking at Calder

Dazzling Dr. Cevin, Luis Olivares, Rey Wan Racing--4-2-1-1; working strong at Calder

Dr. Socrates, Gregory de Gannes, Hamdelue Stable, leading money winner ($77,260) of those nominated

Formal Etiquette, Gerald Bennett, Wilbur K. France--Maiden winner

Get Wild, Allen Iwinski, Allen Iwinski--Saratoga maiden winner, Belmont allowance win

Hail to the Cat, Ron Allen Sr., Jerry Campbell--Maiden working well at Tampa

Homeontherange, Pablo Andrade, Mois Corporation--1-1; Calder mcl winner

Hostile Witness, Larry Bates, Thomas Willmott--Most eperience of those nominated; 6-1-1-2

Its His Time, Ron Allen Sr., Monterey Stable--Michigan Futurity winner

Lucky Frolic, Milton Wolfson, Stride Rite Racing Stable--Exits four consecutive stakes

Mad Adam, James Jackson, Ro Parra--GLD msw winner; 2-1

Michaelistheone, Steve Towne, Fiorino A. Crispo--Calder mcl winner

Nicandro, Duane Knipe, Nadean Knipe--8 1/4-length maiden winner at Mountaineer

Onyx Star, Linda Rice, Kinsman Stable--Only filly nominated; 3-2-1
Pyrite Springs, Miguel Feliciano, Pyrite Stables--Competitive Ohio-bred sports 5-1-1-2 record

Roman Candles, Lynne Scace, C. Robert Valeri--Broke maiden at Meadowlands in 1:10.81

Rompburger, Emanuel Tortora, Take Five Stable--4-2-0-0

Shoot Out, Michael Zweisler, William Farish--Delaware maiden winner from strong connections

Silly Savage, Kenneth Decker, Jacks or Better Farms--Connections captured 2002 Inaugural

Sounds Impossible, Henry Carroll, William Roberts--Smoke Glacken colt

Stand Ready, Charles Simon, Requiem Racing; Roger Shipke-- Saratoga maiden winner

Summer Legacy, Ron Allen Sr., Equest 1 Racing Stable--Last year's winning connections; 1-1

Tir Na Og, Kirk Ziadie, Kinsman Farm--Half-brother to Shake You Down

Wayzata Bay, Chad J. Stewart, Gene Phelps--Calder maiden winner at 7 furlongs

Wind Spectacle, Claude Cecil, Susan King--1-1; GLD msw winner